Comelec releases initial list of candidates

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

There are eight people running for president and six running for vice president based on the initial list of candidates for the coming polls released by the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines) — The Commission on Elections (Comelec) released on Thursday (January 21) an initial list of candidates for the coming elections in May.

There are eight presidential candidates: Jejomar "Jojo" Binay for the United Nationalist Alliance (UNA), Miriam Defensor Santiago for the People's Reform Party, Rodrigo Duterte for PDP-Laban, Mel Mendoza for the Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino, Grace Poe running as independent, Manuel "Mar" Roxas for the Liberal Party (LP), Roy Señeres for the Partido ng Manggagawa at Magsasaka and Dante Valencia running as independent.

In the derby for vice president, there are six candidates: Alan Peter Cayetano (Independent), Francis "Chiz" Escudero (Independent), Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. (Independent), Antonio "Sonny" Trillanes IV (Independent), Gregorio "Gringo" Honasan (UNA) and Leni Robredo (LP).

According to the Comelec, there are 52 candidates for senator.

The list can also be seen on the Comelec's official website.

Election-Candidates-infographics_CNNPH.png Infographic by Miggy Crisostomo  

The poll body, however, warned that the list may still change as two candidates — Poe and Duterte — still have pending cases.

"Syempre yung mga ano pa, may mga pending na kaso, susubukan naming habulin. Kung hindi namin kayang habulin, lalabas na sa balota," said Comelec Senior Commissioner Christian Robert Lim.

"We have a scheduled en banc sa Tuesday. That's for the finalization... Medyo shortlist na talaga itong nilabas namin."

Comelec also said that the printing of the official ballots will begin on February 1.