Duterte appoints Danny Lim as new MMDA chair

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

(File photo) President Rodrigo Duterte is set to appoint Danny Lim as chair of the Metro Manila Development Authority, marking the 12th former official from the military or police to assume post in his administration.

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, May 21) — President Rodrigo Duterte appointed retired Brig. Gen. Danilo Lim as the new chairman of the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA).

Malacanang released his appointment papers on Monday night, right after President Duterte left for his four-day official visit to Russia.


Tim Orbos, who assumed office in August last year, will remain as MMDA General Manager, and in text message said, "I serve at the pleasure of the President."

Lim ran for the Senate in 2010 as an independent candidate, and eventually as a guest candidate for the Liberal Party. After being disqualified then reinstated by the Commission on Elections, he lost, placing 17th.

Former President Benigno Aquino III appointed him as the Bureau of Customs Deputy Commissioner, until he resigned in July 2013 due to alleged corruption in the bureau.

Lim led the failed 1989 coup d'etat against the administration of former President Cory Aquino, for which he was detained for two years. He was released under the Ramos administration, and was a member of the RAM-SFP-YOU (Reform the Armed Force Movement-Soldiers of the Filipino People-Young Officers Union) peace panel.

He was relieved from his post as commander of the First Scout Rangers Regiment for allegedly plotting a coup d'etat against former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo in 2006.

He was detained from 2006 to 2010 for charges of rebellion and attempted coup d' etat.

Along with Senator Antonio Trillanes IV, Lim was among the Magdalo group members who staged the 2007 Manila Peninsula siege.

Lim is the 12th former official from the military or police to assume office under the Duterte administration, following the appointments of:

  • National Security Adviser Hermogenes Esperon
  • Office of the President Undersecretary Emmanuel Bautista
  • National Irrigation chief Ricardo Visaya
  • Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana
  • Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office General Manager Alexander Balutan
  • National Food Authority administrator Jason Aquino
  • National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council executive director Ricardo Jalad
  • Bureau of Customs Commissioner Nicanor Faeldon
  • Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu
  • Land Transportation Office chief Edgar Galvante
  • Incoming Interior Secretary and incumbent Armed Forces of the Philippines chief Eduardo Año

This story was updated on May 22, 2017 at 10:40 p.m. to add Lim's appointment papers.