BSP to issue commemorative coins for Rev. Horacio Dela Costa, Gen. Artemio Ricarte, Isidro Torres

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, August 25) — The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas on Thursday said it will issue limited edition commemorative circulation coins for three historical figures in the Philippine history.

In a statement, BSP said the commemorative coins will be in celebration of the "100th birth anniversary of educator and historian Reverend Horacio dela Costa S.J., and the 150th birth anniversaries of two Philippine Revolutionary Army officers, Generals Artemio Ricarte and Isidro Torres."

The Central Bank added they would release the coins "to preserve history through our currency."

Reverend Dela Costa S.J., one of the founders of the Philippine Historical Association, aided Filipino and American soldiers who had escaped Japanese prison camps.

Gen. Ricarte, meanwhile, was elected the Capital General of the Philippine army at the Tejeros convention in 1897. He was also known by his nom-de-plume Vibora, or Viper.

Gen. Torres was also known as Matang Lawin, and attained the military governor ranking for Bulacan, after being named brigadier general by former President Emilio Aguinaldo.

The obverse side of each coin, BSP said, will feature the individual portrait of each historical figure, while the reverse side will feature the P1 denomination, an eagle silhouette, the BSP seal, and the year mark.

According to the Central Bank, commemorative coins are minted "to honor a specific person or recognize the significance of a place or event that made a mark in the history of the Philippines."

The last commemorative coin issued by the BSP was in celebration of Jose Rizal's 150th birth anniversary in 2011.