Supreme Court upholds ruling on declaration of martial law in Mindanao

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, December 5) — The Supreme Court on Tuesday junked motions for reconsideration against the ruling on the declaration of martial law in Mindanao.

Voting 10-3-1, the Supreme Court upheld the implementation of martial law in Mindanao, High Court spokesperson Theodore Te said. He said the motions were denied with finality for "mootness and lack of merit."

The high court rejected the appeals of opposition lawmakers and Mindanao residents to reverse its July 4 ruling, declaring martial law as constitutional.

Related: Opposition solons ask SC to reverse ruling upholding martial law

The breakdown of the justices' votes were the same as their July 4 martial law ruling.

Those who voted to reject the martial law petitions and uphold military rule were Associate Justices Presbitero Velasco Jr., Teresita De Castro, Diosdado Peralta, Lucas Bersamin, Mariano Del Castillo, Jose Mendoza, Bienvenido Reyes, Estela Perlas-Bernabe, Francis Jardaleza, Samuel Martirez, and Noel Tijam.

Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno, Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio, and Associate Justice Alfredo Caguioa voted to partially grant martial law in some areas.

Associate Justice Marvic Leonen was the only justice who voted to grant the petitions.

Related: 11 justices vote to junk three consolidated martial law petitions

President Rodrigo Duterte declared martial law in Mindanao on May 23, following clashes between government troops and the Maute group in Marawi, the provincial capital of Lanao del Sur around 1,500 kilometers south of Manila.

On July 22, the 60-day period lapsed and Congress approved a request from the President to extend martial law until the end of the year.

The Armed Forces of the Philippines has sent their recommendations to Duterte whether they see the need to extend martial law, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said on Monday.