#WalangPasok: Class suspensions for September 14

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, September 13) — As Typhoon Ompong continues to threaten the country with heavy rains, some cities and municipalities in the country have announced class and work suspensions.

The Department of Education (DepEd) meanwhile, said they were coordinating with government agencies in preparing for the effects of Ompong.

At a command conference at the headquarters of the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) Thursday, the DepEd said 19,704 schools and 7,722,707 learners would be affected by the typhoon.

"We have mobilized DRRMS and our field offices to make sure that all the efforts for preparedness are in place, and that damage will be minimal," DepEd Secretary leonor Briones said.

In a statement also released Thursday, the DepEd said, "The Department and its field offices have already taken the necessary actions to ensure that operations run smoothly and possible damages are mitigated."

Chief Justice Teresita Leonardo-de Castro said there are no cancellations in the national capital region's courts except those in the Manila City Hall. However, the chief magistrate left the decision to order work suspension in other courts to the Executive Judges.

Here is the list of class suspensions for Friday, September 14.


Ilocos Region (Region I)

  • Province of La Union (including work in public, private offices)
  • Province of Pangasinan (including work in public offices)

Cagayan Valley (Region II)

  • Province of Cagayan
  • Province of Isabela
  • Province of Quirino
  • Bambang, Nueva Vizcaya (including work in public, private offices)

Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR)

  • Province of Abra (including work in public, private offices)
  • Province of Apayao
  • Aguinaldo, Ifugao
  • Alfonso Lista, Ifugao
  • Asipulo, Ifugao
  • Baguio City
  • Banaue, Ifugao
  • Hingyon, Ifugao
  • Kalinga
  • La Trinidad, Benguet
  • Lagawe, Ifugao
  • Mayoyao, Ifugao
  • Province of Kalinga
  • Mountain Province

Central Luzon (Region III)

  • Olongapo City
  • Province of Aurora
  • Province of Bulacan
  • Province of Nueva Ecija
  • Province of Pampanga
  • Province of Tarlac
  • Province of Zambales


  • Lemery, Batangas
  • Lipa, Batangas
  • Nasugbu, Batangas
  • Taal, Batangas
  • Tanauan, Batangas
  • Biñan, Laguna
  • Antipolo City, Rizal
  • Cainta, Rizal
  • Cardona, Rizal
  • San Mateo, Rizal
  • Rodriguez, Rizal
  • Taytay, Rizal
  • Province of Cavite
  • Province of Laguna
  • Province of Quezon


  • Province of Romblon (including work in public, private offices)

Bicol Region (Region V)

  • Province of Albay
  • Province of Camarines Norte
  • Province of Camarines Sur
  • Province of Sorsogon
  • Province of Catanduanes (including work in public, private offices in Virac only)
  • Province of Masbate: Aroroy, Baleno, Balud, Batuan, Cawayan, Claveria, Mandaon, Milagros, Monreal, Mobo, Palanas, San Fernando, San Jacinto, San Pascual, Uson

Western Visayas (Region VI)

  • Iloilo: Iloilo City, Oton, San Joaquin, Tigbauan, Guimbal, Igbaras, Tubungan, Alimodian, Pavia, Zarraga, Leganes, Leon, Sta. Barbara, Janiuay, Lambunao, New Lucena, Mina, Bingawan, Pototan, Maasin, Badiangan, Dumangas, Barotac Nuevo. Calinog, San Enrique, Sara , San Dionisio
  • Guimaras: Jordan

Central Visayas (Region VII)

  • Cebu City
  • Negros Oriental:Amlan, Bacong, Mabinay, Siaton, Valencia

Eastern Visayas (Region VIII)

  • Calbayog City, Samar
  • Catbalogan, Samar
  • Maasin, Southern Leyte

Zamboanga Peninsula (Region IX)

  • Zamboanga City
  • Dipolog City, Zamboanga del Norte

National Capital Region (NCR)


Western Visayas (Region VII)

  • Iloilo: Miagao

Central Visayas (Region VII)

  • Negros Oriental: Guihulngan City, Tanjay City, Pamplona, Zamboanguita

READ: The latest updates on Typhoon Ompong