FULL LIST: Senatorial aspirants for 2019 elections

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines) — Several senatorial aspirants have filed their certificates of candidacy (COC) for the 2019 midterm elections.

The 152 hopefuls will fill the 12 vacant seats in the Senate of the Philippines.

Below are the names of the senatorial candidates who trooped to the Commission of Elections (Comelec) to formalize their candidacy.


  • Reelectionist Senator Koko Pimentel, PDP-Laban party
  • Singer Freddie Aguilar
  • Dr. Willie Ong, Lakas-CMD
  • Victoriano Inte, independent
  • Daniel Magtira, independent
  • Dionisio Manalo, independent
  • Christian Castro, independent
  • Salam Tagean Sr., independent
  • Former Makabayan party-list Representative Neri Colmenares, Makabayan
  • Melchor Chavez, Labor Party Philippines
  • Ibrahim Albani, Labor Party Philippines
  • Abner Afuang, Labor Party Philippines
  • Robel dela Cruz, independent
  • Samira Gutoc Tomawis, Liberal Party
  • Carmelo Carreon, independent
  • Marvin Navarro, independent
  • Anson Tuana, independent
  • Ramon Diaz, independent
  • Eleazar Salon, independent
  • Danilo Roleda, UNA
  • Rey Dapat, independent
  • Gerald Arcega, Labor Party Philippines
  • Rolando Merano, independent
  • Eric Negapatan, independent
  • Vicente Avena, KDP
  • Nur-Ana Sahidulla, KDP
  • Antonio Valdes, KD


  • Rowell Balangue, independent
  • Reelectionist Senator Nancy Binay, UNA
  • Valeriano Nocon, independent
  • Bureau of Corrections Chief Ronald dela Rosa, PDP-Laban
  • Roel Lamoste, independent
  • Ricky Bacolod, independent
  • Cesar Roca, independent
  • Nid Anima, independent
  • Atty. Larry Gadon, KBL
  • Evelina Amantiad, independent


  • Reelectionist Senator Cynthia Villar
  • Maguindanao 2nd District Rep. Zajid “Dong” Mangudadatu, PDP-Laban
  • Medardo Manrique, independent
  • Andrew Magistrado, independent
  • Magdalo Rep. Gary Alejano
  • Reelectionist Senator Grace Poe, independent
  • Reynante G. Galero, independent
  • Charlie B. Talledo, independent
  • Armelsen A. Palencia, independent
  • Carlos Q. Gonzales III, independent
  • Kary L. Balagosa, independent
  • Edmundo Vicente G. Casiño, KDP
  • Michael Apacible, independent
  • Former Senator Lito Lapid, Nationalist People’s Coalition
  • Edmundo D. Fuerte, independent
  • Pepito S. Salangsang, independent
  • Norman C. Marquez, independent
  • Reelectionist Senator JV Ejercito, NPC
  • Alejo P. Katigbak, independent
  • Benedicto V. Vasquez, independent
  • Dominick Domondon, independent
  • Manuel B. Santos, independent
  • Teodo L. Calvo, Jr., independent
  • Jaime Poliquit, independent
  • Jude Josue Sabio, independent
  • Christopher Lawrence "Bong" Go, PDP-Laban


  • Former Interior Secretary Manuel "Mar" Roxas, Liberal Party
  • Taguig City Representative Pia S. Cayetano, Nacionalista Party
  • Reelectionist Senator Bam Aquino, Liberal Party
  • Angelo de Alban, independent 
  • Jonathan Baldevarona, Filipino Family Party
  • Robert Pipo, independent
  • Ernesto Arellano, Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi
  • Charlie Gaddi, Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi
  • Conrado Generoso, Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi
  • Emily Mallillin, Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi
  • Jesus Caceres, Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi
  • Josefa Javelona, Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi
  • Joan Nalliw, Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi
  • Agnes Escudero, Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi
  • Richard Alfajora, Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi
  • Evangeline Abejo, Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi
  • Hussayin Arpa, Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi
  • Ilocos Norte Governor Imee Marcos, Nacionalista Party
  • Chel Diokno, Liberal Party
  • Faisal Mangondato, Katipunan Party
  • Robert Marin, PGRP
  • Former Senator Jinggoy Estrada, Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino Party
  • Rolando Plaza, independent
  • Lorenzo "Erin" Tañada, Liberal Party
  • Ernesto Librando, independent
  • Ibrahim Usman, independent
  • Albert Alba, independent
  • Rizalito David, independent
  • Oscar Arcilla, Jr., independent
  • Alan Maco, independent
  • Ephraim Defiño, independent
  • Severino Portugal, Jr., independent
  • Leborio Jangao, Jr.
  • Liza Schneider, independent
  • Rodel Navarro, independent
  • Leo Cadion, Philippine Green Republican Party
  • Pedro Montano, independent
  • Fredie Maiquez, Philippine Green Republican Party
  • Sixto Lagare, Philippine Green Republican Party


  • Junbert Guigayuma, Labor Party of the Philippines
  • Journalist Jiggy Manicad, independent
  • Former Senator Bong Revilla, Lakas-CMD
  • Francis Tolentino, PDP-Laban
  • Ranny Montalban, independent
  • Allan Montaño, independent
  • Jose Sonny Matula, Labor Party Philippines
  • Ma. Socorro “Muffet” Manahan, Partido Federal ng Pilipinas
  • Marcelino “Mar” Arias, Labor Party Philippines
  • Former Senator Sergio “Serge” Osmeña III, independent
  • Vector Maliuanag, independent
  • Lemicio Roxas, Katipunan ng Demokratikong Pilipino
  • Rosita Imperial, Katipunan ng Demokratikong Pilipino
  • Reelectionist Senator Sonny Angara, Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino Party
  • Former Solicitor General Florin “Pilo” Hilbay, Aksyon Demokratiko Party
  • Francisco Naval, independent
  • Emmanuel Dadulla, KDP
  • Gene Nuega, independent
  • Former Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque, People’s Reform Party
  • Former DILG chief Rafael “Raffy” Alunan III, Bagumbayan Party
  • Lawyer Romulo Macalintal
  • Former Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile, Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino
  • Emmanuel Lopez, independent
  • Alexander Encarnacion, independent
  • Amir-Hussin Alih, Lakas-CMD
  • Andrew Castillo, independent
  • Luther Meniano, Labor Party Philippines
  • Porferio Camorongan, independent
  • Manuel Montarde, Philippine Green Republican Party
  • Agnes Afable, independent
  • Ernesto Ramel, Aksyon Demokratiko Party
  • Agnes Sy, independent
  • Nestor Abuid, independent
  • Vivien Moreno, Akbayan Citizen’s Action Party
  • Elizabeth Capular, independent
  • Ernesto Ansula, independent
  • Geremy Geroy, independent
  • Joselito Guinto, independent
  • Saidina Saludin, independent
  • Elmer Francisco, Partido Federal ng Pilipinas
  • Alfredo Sumalinog, independent
  • Pedrito Tagle, independent
  • JC Alegre, independent
  • Bethsaida Lopez, independent
  • Rodel Mancilla, independent
  • Leodigario de Guzman, Partido Lakas ng Masa
  • Diosdado Padilla, Partido Federal ng Pilipinas
  • Bernard Austria, Partido Demokratikong Sosyalista ng Pilipinas

In a briefing Wednesday, Comelec Commissioner Rowena Guanzon said a total of 152 aspirants filed their COCs for the Senate. Eighty-six percent of the senatorial candidates (131) were male, while the remaining 14 percent (21) were female.

A total of 185 partylists also filed their certificates of nomination and acceptance. Recent data from Comelec's elections statistics department, meanwhile, showed that females only accounted for 23 percent of the first nominees for partylist representatives.

As of October 16, candidates for gubernatorial posts for the whole country totaled to 108-- only nine of which were women. Sixty-one aspirants also filed their candidacies for the vice governor positions, with only 20 of them are women.


Comelec confirmed there were no reported acts of violence throughout the filing period. It added the list will still be cleansed, as officials will review the candidates' qualifications.

The final list of qualified candidates is expected to be out by December 15.

A candidate can be replaced; a substitute candidate may file their COC from November 30, 2018 to midday of May 13, 2019, the day of elections.