6 more bets drop out of Puerto Princesa recall election

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Edward Hagedorn (left) sits with Lucilo Bayron back in 2013 during ceremonies honoring him for his two decades of running Puerto Princesa as mayor. (Photo from the official Facebook account of Puerto Princesa City)

PUERTO PRINCESA, Palawan (CNN Philippines) — The Commission on Elections in Puerto Princesa expect more candidates to withdraw on Thursday from the recall election for the city's mayoralty, which is set on May 8.

Last Tuesday, six candidates filed their affidavits of retraction to the local Comelec office here 8 a.m., leaving 37 in the May 8 elections so far, according Cielette Marquez, election assistant of the local Comelec office.

Among the candidates is former Mayor Edward Hagedorn, whose supporters initiated the recall petition due to alleged "loss of trust and confidence" on incumbent Mayor Lucilo Bayron, who is also running.

Those who withdrew on Tuesday are Mayeth Ferrer, Ginalyn Dalaguit, Chinchin Fejider, Rowena Pregua, Romy Cañete, and Christine Frago.

Those who withdrew their candidacy in the last week of April are Maribel Valeza and Romel Jadulos.

They would still have to submit their list of expenditures from the time Comelec declared them as official candidates, Marquez said.

The first recall election in the Philippines was also held in 2002, also in Puerto Princesa. That pushed out Mayor Dennis Socrates from his posit, but he later on become a member of the House of Representatives.

Malacañan has declared the recall poll on May 8 as a special nonworking holiday in Puerto Princesa.

CNN Philippines' stringer Keith Anthony S. Fabro contributed to this report.