Batangas extends to six districts

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Lipa City (CNN Philippines) — Two more districts, Lipa City and Batangas City, were added to the province of Batangas after President Benigno Aquino III signed Republic Act No. 10673.

On February 10, 2014, Rep. Raneo Abu originally filed House Bill 3750 that separates Batangas City from Batangas Province to become a lone district.

After a month, Sen. Ralph Recto proposed a move to amend the house bill in creating another separate legislative district for Lipa City.

Lipa City now will be separated from the towns of Padre Garcia, Ibaan, Rosario, San Jose, San Juan and Taysan which was part of the 4th District.

By becoming new districts, Lipa and Batangas are expecting more growth and boost the developments in the area, according to observers.

Both cities have the most number of voters.

Lipa has 147,564 registered voters while Batangas City had 207,756 registered voters in the May 2013 election.

Batangas City is now separated from the 2nd District, which is represented by Congressman Abu.

Mayor’s wife to face Governor Vi in Congress?

Batangas Gov. Vilma Santos-Recto already expressed her intention to run in 2016 as congresswoman of the newly created district of Lipa.

Watch: Vilma Santos seeking seat in Congress?

Meanwhile, tarpaulins stating "Si Ate VI ang VP ko" is spreading around the province pushing for the vice presidential post of the present governor.

But a possible face-off between the wife of Lipa City Mayor Meynard Sabili and Recto is seen.

In a telephone interview with Sabili's wife Bernadette, she aggressively said, "tatakbo ako.”