Maguindanao province votes 'yes' for Bangsamoro law

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, January 22) — Residents of Maguindanao province voted "yes" for the creation of a new Bangsamoro autonomous region.

With a voter turnout of 93.63% (608,846) on Monday, 599,581 voted "yes," while 9,096 said "no" to the ratification of the Bangsamoro Organic Law, the Commission on Elections and the Maguindanao Plebiscite Board of Canvassers confirmed Tuesday.

The provincial board said ballots of 36 municipalities have been canvassed. Elections results are still to be officially declared by the National Board of Canvassers.


Maguindanao, along with other provinces in the current Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM), on Monday took part in a plebiscite to determine the areas that would make up the proposed Bangsamoro ARMM.

The tally excludes Cotabato City, which is not an official part of ARMM but hosts its regional offices and line agencies.

In a partial, unofficial Comelec tally of the Cotabato City plebiscite, the "yes" vote also leads by a 7,000 margin as of publishing time.

Meanwhile, residents of Marawi City in Lanao del Sur also overwhelmingly ratified the law.

READ: The Bangsamoro plebiscite: Things you need to know

President Rodrigo Duterte in July announced he signed the Bangsamoro law, which is envisioned to end the decades-long conflict and rebellion in Mindanao.

Comelec is scheduled to hold another plebiscite on February 6 for Lanao del Norte excluding Iligan City, North Cotabato and the 28 areas which petitioned for inclusion into the new Bangsamoro region.