Douthit, Ravena banner Sinag Pilipinas 12-man lineup

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

A veteran of the FIBA-Asia Championship, Douthit is expected to bring his leadership to the young core of nationals set to compete in the SEABA and SEAG.

(CNN Philippines) — The 12-man roster of the Philippine national basketball team that will compete in the Southeast Asia Basketball Association (SEABA) tournament and SEA Games have been revealed.

Naturalized Filipino Marcus Douthit will lead Sinag Pilipinas alongside reigning University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) Most Valuable Player Kiefer Ravena, Ray Parks Jr., Mac Belo, Troy Rosario, and Kevin Ferrer.

Players who also made the cut are National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) MVP Scottie Thompson, Glenn Khobuntin, Almond Vosotros, Norbert Torres, Jio Jalalon, and Russel Escoto.

Jeron Teng, Arnold Van Opstal, Prince Rivero, Thirdy Ravena, and Baser Amer were the players who failed to make coach Tab Baldwin's lineup.

"I’m confident with the players who were selected. I trust the coaching staff with their decision and I’m looking forward to playing with the new Sinag team," Ravena told CNN Philippines.

Related: ‘Hindi kami pwede mag-relax,' says Ravena

The collegiate star also expressed the team has their work cut out for them, with just weeks left until the SEABA tournament.

"We need to work on our cohesiveness inside the court. Especially with limited practice time, we have to make the most of what we have and make every training day an opportunity to get better as a team."

Sinag Pilipinas’ first order of business is to win the SEABA, the qualifiers for the FIBA Asia Championship happening in China in September.

The SEABA tournament will run from April 27 to May 1 in Singapore.

Related: Sinag Pilipinas to lock horns with Indonesia in SEABA opener