UFC Fight Night Manila: Edgar defeats Faber; Muñoz ends career on winning note

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Frankie Edgar beat Urijah Faber via unanimous decision.

(CNN Philippines) — The Ultimate Fighting Championship held its first ever fight card here in the Philippines in front of a sold out Mall of Asia Arena on Saturday (May 16 PHT) with Frankie Edgar and Urijah Faber headlining the event.

Here are the results:

Levan Makashvili def. Mark Eddiva (via split decision)

With a partisan crowd behind him, Mark Eddiva went to work against Levan Makashvili but couldn’t handle his takedowns as he dropped to a 6-2 record with a split decision defeat.

In the first round, Mark Eddiva had the advantage standing up and used his kicks to keep his opponent at a distance but Makashvili’s takedowns proved to be effective against the Filipino.

The last two rounds showed Makashvili’s dominance, taking down his opponent with relative ease.

The fight went to the score cards with the judges giving a split decision victory to Makashvili.

Philippe Nover def. Yui Chul Nam (via split decision)

Phillipe Nover asserted his strength over Yui Chul Nam with a variation of tosses and strong takedown ability to earn a split decision victory.

The highlight of the first round was when Nover picked up his opponent and slammed him onto the canvas. Nover also displayed his skills on the ground. In the second round, “The Filipino Assassin” used his takedown abilities again, but found himself in trouble as a Yui punch found its way to his chin, putting him on the ground.

The Korean put down Nover twice against the chains of the Octagon in the final round. When the score cards were read, Philippe Nover saw his record improve to 12 wins, 5 losses, and one draw in his return to the UFC.

Neil Magny def. Hyun Gyu (via TKO)

Neil Magny weathered a strong start from Hyun Gyu Lim and fought his way back to stop his opponent in the second round.

After being put down by a flying knee, Magny rallied back into the fight and threw his opponent to the ground. Magny took the momentum he brought from the first round and slammed Hyun hard and proceeded to pummel him before the referee finally stopped the fight.

This victory saw Magny improve his seven fight winning streak.

ufc_manila_munoz.jpg Mark Munoz ended his career with a win.  

Mark Muñoz def. Luke Barnatt (via unanimous decision)

Mark Muñoz was relentless as he decisively defeated the much longer Luke Barnatt in his last match as a professional fighter.

The first round was all Muñoz as he took away the length advantage of Barnatt with his quick feet and strong take downs. Barnett tried to make a comeback in the second with his takedown skills and his striking, but Muñoz ended the round with a solid overhand right.

The final round of the bout saw the “Filipino Wrecking Machine” land effective strikes on his opponent’s chin repeatedly, and with the fight winding down, Muñoz stood over Barnatt before lunging in with a leaping right hand.

The judges gave unanimous decision victory to Muñoz, ending his career with a record of 14 wins and 3 defeats.

Gegard Mousasi def. Costas Philippou (via unanimous decision)

Gegard Mousasi took home a dominant win against Costas Philippou by showcasing his skills on the ground.

It was a fairly one sided affair as Mousasi took Philippou’s striking game away with quick takedowns and excellent control on the ground.

Frankie Edgar def. Urijah Faber (via unanmious decision)

To cap off the first event of the UFC in Manila, Frankie Edgar bagged a unanimous decision win over Uriah Faber.

There was a high volume of strikes from Edgar and Faber to start the match. The fight went back and forth as both fighters showed off their quick footwork and hands throughout the rounds, but it was Edgar who looked to be the more dangerous fighter.

Edgar took down Faber with a violent takedown a few times, which was enough to earn him a comfortable victory over Faber.


Jon Tuck def. Tae Hyun Bang via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:56 of first round

Kajan Johnson def. Zhang Lipeng by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Li Jingliang def. Dhiego Lima by KO at 1:25 of first round

Ning Guangyou def. Royston Wee by TKO at 4:59 of second round

Jon Delos Reyes def. Roldan Sangcha-An via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:13 of second round

Yao Zhikui defeats Nolan Ticman by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)