PBA Press Corps Annual Awards Night set Sept. 16

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines) — The best and the brightest professional stars gather under one roof on September 16 as the Philippine Basketball Association Press Corps (PBAPC) honors the 40th season's top individual performers in its Annual Awards Night at the Century Park Hotel in Pablo Ocampo St. (formerly Vito Cruz), Manila.

The PBAPC Annual Awards, a tradition held annually since 1993, will start at 7 p.m.

Headlining the list of awards are the Coach of the Year and Executive of the Year – awards that were named after legendary mentor Virgilio 'Baby' Dalupan and the late Danny Floro of two-time Grand Slam winner Crispa, respectively.

Other awards to be given are the Defensive Player of the Year, Mr. Quality Minutes (Sixth Man Award), Comeback Player, Order of Merit (given to the player with most number of Best Player of the Week nods), Scoring Champion and the All-Rookie Team.

Last year, coach Tim Cone was named PBAPC Coach of the Year for the third time in his career after steering San Mig Super Coffee (now Star Hotshots) to a Grand Slam title.

It was Cone’s first Coach of the Year plum in 19 years or since 1996 – the year he powered Alaska to a Grand Slam feat.

The first PBAPC Coach of the Year award for Cone – the leader in league titles with 18 – came in 1994.

Last year, San Miguel Corporation (SMC) top honcho Ramon S. Ang bagged the Executive of the Year award.

The other awardees from last year include Marc Pingris (Defensive Player), PJ Simon (Mr. Quality Minutes), Asi Taulava (Comeback), Mark Barroca (Order of Merrit), Jayson Castro (Scoring Champion) while Greg Slaughter, Ian Sangalang, Justin Melton, Terrence Romeo and Raymond Almazan formed the All-Rookie Team.

PBAPC President Barry Pascua of Bandera will lead the celebration, together with top league officials led by new PBA President and CEO Chito Salud, Commissioner Chito Narvasa, incoming PBA Chairman Robert Non of San Miguel Beer and the board representatives of Alaska, Ginebra, Barako Bull, Blackwater, Globalport, Mahindra, Meralco, NLEX, Rain or Shine, Star and Talk ’N Text.