Pangilinan retires as SBP president; New chief to be elected in January

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Apart from SBP president Manny V. Pangilinan, 12 other members of the 25-man board are set to step down.

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines) — Winds of change are blowing in Philippine basketball following Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) president Manny V. Pangiinan’s announcement on Thursday (October 8) that he is retiring as chief of the country's basketball governing body. 

His successor will be elected in January 2016.

“I think it is best that I retire,” said Pangilinan, Gilas Pilipinas' top patron, in a press conference in Makati.

Pangilinan’s reign as the president of the governing body actually lapsed last February.

But to ensure smooth preparations for the 2019 FIBA World Cup bid and the formation of the Gilas team for the 2015 FIBA Asia Championship, the elections for new leadership was put in the back burner.

Now that both events have been concluded, the governing body has set the process of the leadership change in motion. The election for a new SBP head is set January next year.

Apart from Pangilinan, 12 other members of the 25-man board are set to step down due to the expiration of their terms.

Those 12 board members are Ricky Vargas, Bernie Atienza, Pete Alfaro, Danny Soria, Fr. Paul De Vera, Nicanor Jorge, Raul Alcozeba, Dr. Jay Adalem, Mayor Oca Moreno, Robert Uy, Vivian Manila, and Rey Gamboa.