ONE: Brandon Vera stops Sekine to retain heavyweight belt

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines) — He is still the heavyweight champion.

Filipino fighter Brandon 'The Truth' Vera dominated challenger Hideki Sekine via a first round stoppage in the main event of the ONE Championship fight card to retain the heavyweight title on Friday evening at the Mall of Asia Arena.

After a cautious start, 'The Truth' unleashed a barrage of strikes midway through the first round to send Sekine to the canvas, prompting the referee to put a stop to the contest.

The referee stopped the fight at the 3:11 mark of the opening round, which is longer than Vera's 26-second finish in his last bout in Manila.

After the fight, Vera wished the crowd a happy holiday.

"Manila! Maligayang pasko!" the heavyweight champion said.

Vera improved his MMA record to 15-7-1 with the victory.

Mixed night for Filipino fighters

It wasn't all cheers for Filipino fight fans, with some local fighters absorbing losses in the undercard.

Filipino-Australian Reece McLaren was agonizingly close to claiming the ONE Bantamweight title, after being outpointed by Bibiano Fernandes for the split decision loss.

Other Filipino fighters Geje Estaquio, Eugene Toquero, and April Osenio all absorbed losses.

Benguet-native Honario Banario continued his resurgence  after an impressive first round victory over Rajinder Singh Meena, while Mark Streigl bounced back from his last loss with a unanimous decision win over Sotir Kichukov.

Team Lakay's Edward Kelly also got the result over Indonesia's Sunoto, while Danny Kingad got the win over Toquero in the fight card's only all-Filipino bout.

Complete results

Brandon Vera def. Hideki Sekine

Bibiano Fernandes def. Reece McLaren

Mark Streigl def. Sotir Kichukov

Toni Tauru def. Geje Eustaquio

Honario Banario def. Rajinder Singh Meena

Leandro Ataides def. Mohamed Ali

Edward Kelly def, Sunoto

Danny Kingad def. Eugene Toquero

Jenny Huang def. April Osenio

Sim Bunsrun def. Liu Peng Shuai

Xia Bin def. Mario Satya Wirawan