PBA: June Mar Fajardo wins record-setting 5th straight MVP award

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Bocaue, Bulacan (CNN Philippines, January 13) — San Miguel Beermen stalwart June Mar Fajardo continued to rewrite the PBA's history book.

The Cebuano giant captured an unprecedented fifth Most Valuable Player (MVP) award before the league's 44th season opening ceremonies Sunday at the Philippine Arena. He was previously tied with legends Alvin Patrimonio and Ramon Fernandez who have four apiece.

Fajardo accumulated 2,436 points from stats, media, players and the PBA to edge out NorthPort Batang Pier spitfire guard Stanley Pringle's 2,041 points in the MVP race.

Here are the winners of the other top honors:

  • Rookie of the Year – Jason Perkins (Phoenix)
  • Most Improved Player – Scottie Thompson (Ginebra)
  • Mythical First team – Fajardo, Pringle, Paul Lee (Magnolia), Japeth Aguilar (Ginebra), Marcio Lassiter (San Miguel)
  • Mythical Second team – Thompson, Mark Barroca (Magnolia), Arwind Santos (San Miguel), Poy Erram, and Matthew Wright (Phoenix)
  • All-Defensive team – Fajardo, Gabe Norwood (Rain or Shine), Rafi Reavis (Magnolia), Rome dela Rosa (Magnolia), Chris Ross (San Miguel)
  • Sportsmanship award – Gabe Norwood (Rain or Shine)