PBA: Simon Enciso explains controversial late shot vs Ginebra

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
totalITemsFound:
maxPaginationLinks: 10
maxPossiblePages:
startIndex:
endIndex:

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, March 5) — It was already a done deal.

The Alaska Aces were on their way to pick up a 20-plus victory over the Barangay Ginebra Sunday at the Ynares Center in Antipolo City.

However, it did not end exactly well as Ginebra head coach Tim Cone did not like Aces guard Simon Enciso's late three-point shot.

Cone was seen visibly upset and went straight to the dugout after the contest.  

"I was dribbling it out and then all I'm hearing behind my head  was 'shoot' so I took one more dribble and took the shot, unfortunately it went in," Enciso told CNN Philippines Sports Desk Tuesday.

With the quotient system in mind, Enciso said he knows why he was urged to take the shot even if the result was beyond doubt.

The quotient in the games won will determine who will advance to the next round.

"I was just trying to do what my coaches told me to do," he said.

The Filipino-American cager, though, admitted that he understands where Cone was coming from.

"I see it from both sides. Me growing up in the States and played college basketball there, it's definitely an unspoken rule."

Enciso said he will apologize to the multi-titled Ginebra mentor if he will be given the opportunity.

"I did not mean to disrespect any of the Ginebra players or coach Tim," he said. "If I do get the chance to talk to coach Tim, I would like to apologize to him personally."

The Aces currently hold the third spot in the team standings with a 3-2 win-loss record. They will next face the Magnolia Hotshots on March 9 at the Ynares Center in Antipolo City.